Patrika Darbo to Host 9th Annual ISAs

Television and film star Patrika Darbo will host the 9th Annual Indie Series Awards ceremony on April 4 at The Colony Theatre in Burbank. CA, producers Roger Newcomb, Kevin Mulcahy Jr. and Susan Bernhardt revealed today.

"Patrika has always been a big part of the ISAs ceremony, and we are so excited to showcase her talent even more this year as our host," said Newcomb. "We have asked Patrika to do so many random things over the years. She's game for anything, and always elevates every idea to another level with her professionalism and enthusiasm.. She will certainly do that again on April 4."

The ISAs celebrate the best in independently produced entertainment created for the Web.

Ladies of the Lake leads all series with 18 total nominations, followed by 16 for The Bay. Those shows will compete in the Best Drama Series category with Anacostia, Giants, L.A. Macabre, Riley Parra, Running With Violet and Teenagers.

Filth City leads all comedies with 12 nominations. The series is joined in the Best Comedy Series field by 190 Lorimer, The Amazing Hoolister Park, Bad Timing, Dear Mankind, How to Buy a Baby, Indoor Boys and ThreadBare.

At this year's ISAs, Darbo is nominated for her work in three separate web series: Indoor Boys, The Bay and Ladies of the Lake. In an Indie Series Awards first, she will compete against herself in the Best Guest Actress - Drama category.

Darbo is a 2016 Primetime Emmy winner as outstanding actress in a short form series for her work on the Indie Series Award-winning digital comedy Acting Dead. She currently stars on the CBS daytime drama The Bold and The Beautiful, recently appeared in the Lifetime film Cradle Swapping, and completed a guest voice role on American Dad. Over the years, Darbo has appeared in countless other series including The Big Bang Theory, The Middle, Devious Maids, Desperate Housewives, Dexter, and was a series regular on the sitcom Step By Step. She received a Daytime Emmy nomination for her work on the iconic NBC soap opera Days of our Lives.

Darbo is also a veteran of dozens of films, including Leaving Normal, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, Daddy's Dyin'...Who's Got The Will?, Speed 2, Rango and Babe. She is often remembered for her stand-out role in Clint Eastwood's In The Line of Fire, in which John Malkovich's Mitch Leary infamously proclaimed to Darbo's Pam Magnus, "You shouldn't have been from Minneapolis.”

Darbo currently serves on the Board of Governors for the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, representing the Performers Peer Group.

In all, 46 series are nominated at the 9th Annual Indie Series Awards. The diverse set of shows originate from countries all around the globe, including United States, Canada, Australia, Germany, Singapore and Uruguay. Crystal trophies will be presented during the ceremony to the winners in 30 categories.

Since 2009, the Indie Series Award has honored the most creative and progressive talent in independent web series. Notable winners over the years include Emma Thompson, Robert Townsend, Cynthia Watros, Judd Hirsch, Cady Huffman, Richard Hatch, Sarah Brown, Martha Byrne, Joan Van Ark, Keith Powell, Jim Rash, Michele Lee, Diane Delano, Charlene Tilton and Billy Dee Williams.
Powered by Blogger.